Police rescued 19 pregnant girls/women from Lagos “baby factory”

Nigerian Police on patrol

The police in Lagos have announced the rescue of 19 pregnant girls from a ‘baby factory’ at Ayanwale area of Ikotun.

The arrest was made on September 19, 2019.

According to a statement made on Sunday by Bala Elkana, the Lagos police spokesperson, the pregnant girls are between the ages of 15 and 28 years old.

Two suspects involved in the scandal were arrested.

According to Mr Elkana, detectives from Isheri-Osun Police Station led by the Divisional Police Officer, Chike Ibe, acted on information from a reliable source which led to the arrest of the suspects.

“The pregnant girls were brought from Rivers, Cross River, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Abia and Imo states non was identified as Lagosian.”

The young women were said to have been abducted by the suspects for the purpose of raping them, getting them pregnant and selling the babies to potential buyers.

The girls were reportedly told they would be employed as domestic staff in Lagos before they were held hostage.

“Two suspects namely Happiness Ukwuoma ‘f’ 40 years old and Sherifat Ipeya ‘f’ 54 years old were arrested in connection with the case. The suspects did not receive formal medical training but operate as nurses,” the police said.

The principal suspect, who was identified as Madam Oluchi, is at large as the police are making efforts to apprehend her. She is from Mbano, Imo State, and is a mother of five children, the police said.

The police said the arrested suspects are natives of Rivers, Cross River, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Abia and Imo states respectively.

“The babies are sold between N300,000 and N500,000 depending on the sex. Boys are sold for N500,000 and girls for N300,000.”

In addition to the rescued pregnant girls, the police said they rescued four kids. The kids were recovered from four different locations in connection to the case.

Zubairu Muazu, the Lagos State Commissioner of Police has directed the State Criminal Investigation Department to take over the case.

“The command is working with other agencies and stakeholders in rehabilitating and resettling the pregnant girls and the babies,” Mr Elkana added.

An investigation is ongoing and the suspects will be charged to court soon, the police said.

Source: Premiumtimesng.com

Categories:

4 Comments

  1. Hello ,
    I’m Leticia Figueroa.
    If you’ve ever been too busy and couldn’t finish a research paper , then you’ve come to the right place. I assist students in all areas of the writing process . I can also write the paper from start to finish.
    My career as an academic writer started early in college . After learning that I was very talented in the field of academic writing, I decided to take it up as a profession.

    Talented Academic Writer- Leticia Figueroa- Killer-papers Confederation

    Like

  2. Hi guys, it’s Leticia Figueroa here!
    I work as an academic writer and have created this content with the intent of changing your life for the better. I started honing my writing abilities in high school. I learned that my fellow students needed writing help—and they were willing to pay for it. The money was enough to help pay my tuition for my remaining semesters of college.
    Ever since school, I have continued to work as an academic writer. I was hired by a writing service based in the United Kingdom. Since then, the dissertations that I have written have been sold around Europe and the United States.
    In my line of work, I have become used to hearing, “Leticia Figueroa, can you help me meet my writing assignment deadline?” I know that I can save their time.

    Academic Writer – Leticia Figueroa – Killer-papers Band

    Like

  3. I’m an expert writer who loves to bring smiles to people’s face.

    Writing is what I do for a living and I am so passionate about this. I have worked with several companies whose mission is to help people solve problems.
    I love traveling and have visited several countries in the past few years.
    I’m happy to have written several books that have contributed positively to the lives of many. My works are available in several parts of the world. And I’m currently working with service providers that help people save time. Being a part of this team has open more opportunities for me to excel as a writer. I have worked with different people and met many clients as a professional.
    I can handle any kind of writing and provide nothing but the best. People come to me all the time to ask if I can solve their assignment problems and I accept. I find pleasure in helping them to solve their problems as a professional.

    Professional Academic Writer – Leonard – http://www.asadeaguia.net Company

    Like

  4. Hi guys, my name is Leonard Rossi!

    I`m an academic writer and I`m going to change your lifes onсe and for all
    Writing has been my passion for a long time and now I can`t imagine my life without it.
    Most of my works were sold throughout Canada, USA, China and even Australia. Also I`m working with services that help people to save their time.
    People ask me “Sir, Leonard, I need your professional help” and I always accept the request, `cause I know, that only I can solve all their problems!

    Academic Writer – Leonard Rossi – http://www.asadeaguia.net Company

    Like

Leave a comment